Christmas Joy

clip-art-free-christmas-kfnloueq

Dear Lord, I’m feeling down today – the bills are stacked up high.

With Christmas just two weeks away, our bank account’s run dry.

The kids have all presented lists of things they want to see;

I hope and pray there’s nothing missed beneath our Christmas tree.

But I don’t have the money for expensive clothes and toys;

Our credit card can’t take much more – Lord, where’s my Christmas joy?

Perhaps it’s wrapped up in that hug my daughter gave this morn;

Or stacked with wood my son did lug to keep us nice and warm.

Perhaps it’s in my oldest’s eyes when he comes home on break

And sees I’ve baked those pumpkin pies he wanted me to make.

Perhaps it’s in the tired lines around my husband’s eyes;

Perhaps in love that’s grown with time I’ve found the greater prize.

A friend who gives a hearty smile and cupboards that aren’t bare;

And, even if they aren’t in style, I’ve got some clothes to wear;

A family who believes in me in all things great and small –

Dear God, I think I finally see – I am not poor at all!

For where your treasure is, there will your heart be also. – Matthew 6:21

I write this poem in the mid 1990s, when my kids were all still at home. I still need to remind myself to open my eyes to the treasures that surround me every day. May Christmas joy fill your heart, mind, spirit, and home.

Michele

4 thoughts on “Christmas Joy

  1. Carole

    It always applies! Thank God, I got a full-time part-time job (three days a week) as a legal secretary and am so blessed because I will be 74 on Friday, the 18th!!!! I hope you and your family have a blessed and safe Christmas!

    Carole T. Weldon
    A member of Pete’s “rag-tag” choir

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

